Bijoux

100_3583

This is probably the second easiest quilt I have ever made.* The patches are put together using a tube method and arranged in a stacked coin style. The fabric requirements are just 10 fat quarters and some background fabric. Easy peasy, no ?…Yes ! Why it took me almost a year from start to finish is a mystery.

The backing is all the same print (Exotic Bandana in Sahara) so I didn’t bother taking a shot of the back.

I took these pictures a couple of days ago during less than ideal light conditions. While they certainly aren’t the best pictures we are now experiencing some snowy,cold, cloudy, winter weather. Done is better than perfect 🙂

100_3578

The fabric is Bijoux by Bari J for Art Gallery fabrics.

100_3581

I had the longarm quilting done for me and am not particularly happy with it. There  seems to be a lot of puckering within the quilting. My Dad used to say “it’ll all come out in the wash”, hopefully that old saying will hold true once I’ve washed it.

I was lucky to find an Art Gallery fabric that is the exact shade of the darkest brown for the binding, I think it frames the quilt well. The finished quilt measures aprox. 68″ x 70″ and if you are interested in making one  you can see the tutorial here.

Hope 2016 is treating you well so far !

linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish It Up Friday.

*This quilt here is the easiest/fastest I’ve ever made.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 10:12:39

    Beautiful, Colleen. Send me your quilts to be quilted and I’ll take them to fabulous Terry!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Robby
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 12:27:50

    Well, I hope it does ‘come out in the wash’, because it’s a really lovely quilt. Eye-catching but in a ‘can’t wait to use this’ sort of way.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Dona
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 20:43:23

    I love it!!! Thanks for both of the links. I am thinking this is next! The quilt is lovely.

    Like

    Reply

  4. mindingmomma
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 17:52:51

    I really like the Art Gallery fabrics you used. Great quilt.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. allisonreidnem
    Jan 11, 2016 @ 14:33:38

    The fabrics and patchwork pattern go together really well – great quilt and great that it is finished ☺

    Like

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Sable | PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

