Just because.

We are almost a week into the new year and I have several new little wips on the go. What is it about starting a new project that is so enticing ? I’m sure that I will eventually finish up all the old ones – I have recently finished a quilt that I will get some pictures of real soon. But for today – here’s what’s going on in my sewing room:

100_3595

Pepper

100_3596

Cricket

100_3595

Gidget

100_3592

These butterfly charm squares from Lillyella were so much fun to paper piece. I’m sure there are more in my future ! Maybe even her larger pattern. You’ll find the free patterns here if you’d like to make some of your own. I started these blocks just because the pattern is so pretty. I saw them as a challenge too, so in attempting them I’m improving my paper piecing skills.

100_3597

This is a table runner that is still hanging around. I did more experimenting with borders after this post. As you can see, I have gone with the KISS solution and simply added more solid. Originally I had imagined adding more print and colour to it. In the end I realized that would have brought the dimensions into something too big to be a table runner and too small to be a table cover. Zzzzz, oh well, at least the practice blocks have been put to use as I don’t think I ever would have made a quilt out of them.

100_3590

The above picture bears little resemblance to the actual colours of the little block I’m going to be turning into a pincushion. The sun was going down so the lighting conditions were terrible. This simple little pin cushion has been on my to-do list for at least 4 months now. Why wait ? It’s given me so much pleasure to pick through my fabrics and figure out what goes with what. I don’t have an end use in mind – I don’t need another pin cushion, I don’t have a craft show or gifts to ready. The pleasure of ‘making’ is reason enough. So I’m including this picture as a nod to doing whatever I want in my own little stitchy place, just because πŸ™‚

hoping you are finding the time to flex your creative muscles – that’s my exercise plan for 2016,lol.

linking up with Lee for WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lillyella
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 10:50:50

    so cute!! And Im totally the same way about starting new projects!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 11:30:06

    So cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. allisonreidnem
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 14:32:42

    You’ve managed to place the fabrics so well for those bright and beautiful butterflies – very skillful I’d say. It is good to just make something because you feel like it , not a to-do list in sight ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jan 08, 2016 @ 08:30:28

      Thanks Allison ! I received a really cool christmas present that makes paper piecing and fussy cutting easier. If I can get some decent pictures, I’ll try and post about it.

      Like

      Reply

      • allisonreidnem
        Jan 09, 2016 @ 05:03:11

        That sounds very interesting. Difficult getting decent photos indoors at this time of year isn’t it?

        Like

      • Colleen
        Jan 09, 2016 @ 08:40:55

        It sure is ! On second thought, there’s probably no great need to do a post on my light box. My gift was purchased at Amazon but I don’t want to appear to be advertising for anyone so I won’t do a direct link – just google Huion L4S Portable Light Box. It works quite well so far. Nice to work on the horizontal instead of trying to hold everything vertical at the window.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

