Easiest. Quilt. Ever.

Seriously, I’ve seen patterns that promise a quick and easy quilt but this tops them all ! I was tired of laying on the couch waiting to get over the flu when I spotted the newest free pattern from the Fat Quarter Shop.

I happened to have a layer cake that I had bought on sale and some matching Kona navy solid yardage so I got busy.

100_2739

It didn’t take long and I was laying out the blocks.

100_2747

please excuse the pictures – it was windy and  -18C !

100_2752

Mistakes were made in the layout in terms of colour/value placement. I realize that now, looking at the pictures.

I will blame it on my stuffed up head and sinuses and probably coughing too much instead of paying attention !

I guess I will have to look at it some more and decide if I am going to take it apart or just live with it. The reason why I jumped into it is because I need something for early March so I guess I do have some time to rearrange it – what do you think ? Constructive criticism is always welcome.

A friend of mine has bought a “hobby” type long arm machine and wants me to come over and help her set it up and figure out how it works. So, since I’m not head-over-heels in love with this quilt it won’t be too precious not to practice on. She gets back from her winter holiday in early March.

There’s a bonus with this quilt as well; 36 hst’s.

100_2755

I am trimming up the corners I cut off to make that diamond and they give me 4″ half square triangles. I haven’t decided what I’ll make out of them – maybe a pillow to go with the quilt. Oh, the fabric I used is called August by Sarah Watts of Cotton and Steel and the top measures aprox. 57″ x 57″.

linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced.

please leave a comment – it’s up at the top by the date.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claremansell
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 10:45:25

    I love this pattern, so simple but effective, it must have come together quickly. Don’t take it apart, I think you’ll learn to live with it and it didn’t jump out at me as an error when I saw it.

    Like

    Reply

  2. allisonreidnem
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 12:07:06

    I don’t see a problem with the quilt layout! It looks ‘balanced’ to me – probably one of those projects where doing random in an organised way is unnecessary 🙂 And exciting to be able to test out a long-arm machine. It would be great if you have time to share what you learn on a post or two.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Colleen
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 12:51:56

    Thank-you ladies for the feed back ! Allison I will try and remember to take my camera the day of. I am looking forward to meeting her machine and giving it a try !

    Like

    Reply

  4. Lorna McMahon
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 16:03:10

    Your layer cake quilt top turned out lovely, Colleen! Love those prints with the navy Kona. And how great to have some bonus hst’s for making a cushion!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: August | PieceMakerQuilts
  6. Trackback: Bijoux | PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

