A deeper meaning ?

100_3657

As I was preparing this post it just occurred to me that there has been a theme developing with my sewing of late… a quick look at my previous post and you’ll see it too.

Plain as day !

It was pure delight sewing up these wagon wheel pincushions from Anna. I love her patterns so much I just ordered her book.

100_3641

a centre stone  with spokes heading out east, west, north, south…

100_3643

kind of reminds me of a medicine wheel – symbolic of the never-ending circle of life. It has no beginning and no end.

100_3646

 

the calming centre stone and the rhythmic spokes going round.

100_3665

There is definitely a deeper meaning to why we do what we do. It may not always be obvious. There is an unmistakable pleasure derived in the making whether the deeper meaning bubbles to the surface or not, it’s there.

 

Jenna Marynowski

I didn’t have to dig deep for the source of pride and pleasure here:

My daughter accepting her companys’ “Award for Excellence”. Hard won and greatly deserved by a smart, talented, hard working, beautiful young woman.

Thanks for dropping by, have a wonderful weekend.

Linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SarahZ
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 09:45:17

    Sweet sweet pincushions! congrats to your daughter, too. Now I am off to your previous post to see the emerging “theme” 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tracey
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 09:51:35

    Congrats to your daughter! And your pincushions are perfect, Colleen!! I will have to take time in thinking about the meaning in my quilting.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jan 22, 2016 @ 18:34:55

      well, sometimes things are simply what they appear to be but I have to say that I have been drawn to this shape for awhile now so it was like an “ah-ha moment” or just total BS !!??

      Like

      Reply

  3. allisonreidnem
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 11:50:55

    Your pincushions are lovely and so circular!(I have great trouble sewing even curves!) Congratulations to your daughter too.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Debbie @ The Quilt Journal
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 12:02:04

    AWW..it’s always so nice when our kids do well- congrats!
    Love the pincushions! Are you getting a jump on Christmas gifts in your life for next year?

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jan 22, 2016 @ 18:25:48

      thanks Debbie, yeah I always like to have some gifts on hand. I often make more than 1 of small projects simply because I usually get curious about other fabric combos.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Mary at Fleur de Lis Quilts
    Jan 23, 2016 @ 18:20:34

    I’ve found it really easy to make more than one of a small project, too. Once I figure out the pattern, all it takes is a few minutes. Those pincushions are darling! Congrats to your daughter on her award. Don’t you find that you’re more proud of her accomplishments than any of your own?

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Jan 24, 2016 @ 12:55:56

    I love your pincushions! And congrats to your daughter!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

