It’s in the Bag

Yup it’s as good as done, both the week and my small project I’m sharing today.

TGIF !

100_3598

I recently found a free pattern for a grocery tote on Cloud 9s’ website and gave it a whirl.

This is a fast and easy, very functional, sewing project. Before I began sewing this up I had come across a blog post that pointed out that the pouch pattern for the bag was not big enough to hold the rolled up grocery tote. I’m sorry that I didn’t save the blogpost because she had some good pictures that illustrated the point. So, being forewarned I made my own pouch and added a handy clip at the same time. I wish I had taken pictures along the way but if you make the pouch you can figure it out too; I used the fabric that is left over in the negative space between the handles of the bag as you are cutting out the pattern. There wasn’t any need to do anything to that fabric, I just straightened out the top edge and sewed the pouch the way you normally do.

As you can see in the above photo, the tote fits into the pouch quite easily !

100_3604

The bag looks a bit like a tank top here but let me assure you, I won’t be wearing it !

If you’d like to make a similar grocery tote here is a link to the pattern.

Have a nice weekend.

I’m linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday.

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jody
    Feb 01, 2016 @ 08:05:06

    I LOVE your Gardenvale, a few posts back. It’s truly wonderful and makes me want to run out and gather up all of the Kingwell fabrics! But I’m on a budget, darn it.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Feb 02, 2016 @ 07:38:53

      lol, thanks Jody ! at the risk of sounding like an enabler… I’ll bet you could make something really WOW with GV !! but, yeah, we (apparently) have to draw the line somewhere 😉

      Like

      Reply

  2. Jody
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 10:32:52

    I’ve been eyeing her fabric since it arrived on the scene. I’m proud of the restraint I’ve shown … NOT! I love her sensibility too – the large quilting stitches, the happy combo of fabrics … just jolly quilting! I hope that you’re keeping your Gardenvale to snuggle under yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

