Digital Assistant

100_3015

This is my latest work in progress. You all probably know the name of the block as it was so popular a few years ago, 24″ Swoon. It has been on my bucket list all this time. As I was trying to come up with an idea to make a table topper for a friend I thought – why not just one  swoon block and a border or 2 ? I can really see what all the excitement was about when this block was first introduced. It is a satisfying block to make and I think the colours here work quite well in this design. I have several choices for the skinny border:

#1- this is just Kona Bluebell solid

100_3019

#2

100_3020

#3

100_3022

Taking pictures and then going to my computer really helps me sort things out and helped in the decision making process. I think I’m going to go with combination #1. I think #2 is just too busy. While I like #3, my friend is really crazy about blue. She’s been known to say, ” I like any colour as long as it’s blue” ! This is another WIP

100_2442

another digital tool I often use is taking a picture of my layout and then making it black and white to more easily see value.

100_2442_2

I would like to get one of those red pieces of plastic to view the layout through right at my design wall. I’ve heard these really help but so far I haven’t come across one to buy. Thanks for stopping by !

It’d be great if you left a comment, the clickie thing is up at the top of this post by the date

Linking up to WIP Wednesday with Lee @ Freshly Pieced.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 07:38:26

    I’ve never seen that lovely block before. It looks perfect as a table topper. I often stall in making progress with a project as I can’t decide on colour or width of borders. Taking photos is a good idea and I’ll be using your tip to go black & white to look at ‘value’ too!

    Like

    Reply

  2. peekaboostitches
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 10:02:57

    I love the swoon blocks! They’re on my bucket list, but my bucket list is so long right now that I might never get to them, lol!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Amanda
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 12:42:56

    I love your swoon block and agree that option 1 is a great choice for borders. Swoon is such a great block and it looks so different depending on the fabrics each person chooses!

    Like

    Reply

  4. viridian
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 13:06:01

    Interesting to see your piece in black and white – a real different view!

    Like

    Reply

  5. ann
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 13:06:49

    Looks good! I definitely prefer a blue border – but both of these fabrics work. Great block for a centerpiece!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Elizabeth E.
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 13:14:35

    I vote for #1 on your Swoon Borders, too. Did you know it’s actually a really old block, with just a different center (It’s called Rolling Star, first published in 1932, and for this block a star was substituted in)? Fun to see traditional blocks repurposed! Yours looks great!

    Like

    Reply

  7. melissa
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 15:02:31

    I agree, #1 was my choice too:)
    Great job btw!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Meg M
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 22:03:36

    A Swoon! I love this pattern but I also hesitated to start one! Now I have a fabric pull waiting and another one over halfway cut!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

