Fingers Crossed

I finished up my table topper yesterday. I bought the material last Saturday and completed the project by Thursday – that’s blisteringly speedy for me… even if it is only 32.5″ square !

100_3034

I clipped it to the base of our antique windmill to take these pictures. It was a bit gusty so it was difficult getting a good picture.

100_3039

The above picture probably shows the most true colours of the fabric combinations.

100_3043

Back inside for a little peek at the backing fabric.

100_3046

This is a shot of the selvage on the fabric I used for the binding. This fabric has almost a metallic shimmer to it but there’s not a metallic thread in the bunch. Pretty interesting use of contrast to create that look. I also thought that this fabric went with the oriental vibe of the other fabrics.

Elizabeth E. commented on my Wednesday post that this is a version of a traditional block first published in 1932.

As I am quite interested in the origins of quilt blocks I did a little investigation and along the way came across this excellent page.

One little concern I have on this project is this:

100_3047

can you see that ghost of a white line down the centre of the blue fabric ? You can click on the picture to make it bigger.

I had used the black FriXion erasable marking pen to mark my pivot point for my quilting. The marks are supposed to disappear after applying heat. Since I haven’t washed the table topper yet I am hoping “it’ll all come out in the wash “. Fingers crossed !

Thanks for stopping by.

I’d love it if you left a comment, it’s up on the left by the date at the top of this page.

Wishing you a pleasant weekend !

I’ll be linking up with the super speedy Amanda @ CrazyMomQuilts for Finish It Up Friday.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Jun 05, 2015 @ 17:19:17

    Hi! Colleen, I’m glad you’ve had the satisfaction of finishing a project quickly – it is a nice feeling once in a while! I do like your use of a single block to make a table topper, it is very striking.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Colleen
    Jun 06, 2015 @ 06:57:03

    Thanks Allison !

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Sleepless in Saskatchewan | PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

