Sunday Stash

Well, I’m certainly a sucker for a sale ! The local fabric shop and by local I mean the one that is only 35 miles down the highway, sent out temptation flyers about a half price fabric sale. Of course there was something that was desperately needed in town that day ( well, not really, I had just been 2 days before). I just went into look, ha haThese two caught my eye:

100_3002

They are from a Red Rooster collection called “Gaslight”.

I decided to look around a bit more, sort of as a learning experience to not choose fabrics all from one collection. These seemed about right:

100_2997

left to right: Oasis by Paintbrush Studio, Suede by P&B Textiles, Henry Glass print & far right is a Benartex print. I am not seeing the proper colour on my screen but in person these blues have a touch of teal in them and really go nicely with the main print. I think the second from the right is a christmas print but I don’t think anyone will notice.

That fabric shop gets alot of Henry Glass fabric in – does anyone know if that’s any relation to Alison Glass? Actually, maybe not… why would she go with Art Gallery if it was ??

Then I needed some lights, so I went with light green:

100_2999

I like the top print quite a bit, it’s the right tint and the print will add interest/scale contrast but the fabric itself isn’t very good quality. It has a weird feel to it – almost like it is full of sizing, it has a fairly good weave to it just not a supple hand like good quilting cotton. Taking that all into consideration I restrained myself to .5 meter of that and also bought a similar colour in a better quality quilting cotton. When making the final fabric selection I’ll just use one of the greens, not both.

100_3005 100_3003

100_3001

That brown peeking out is from Denyse Schmidt’s Hadley collection which I already had in my stash. I also have a good tone-on-tone cream and a solid light blue ( Kona Blueberry ) that matches perfectly with the main prints but I forgot to include them in the pictures.

100_2995

There they are, all together. I’ve been thinking about making a table topper for a friend but haven’t got much of a plan. I could do this again, the bigger one. But I would like to try something new. I’d appreciate any suggestions with links to good tutorials. The comment place is up at the top near the date.

Thanks so much for stopping by. Hope you are having a good weekend.

linking up with Mollie Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

Leave a comment