2 Gifts Given

I was able to get the “placemat” done that I showed you on Wednesday. Hopefully my sister will like it. I did write to the person who wrote up the tutorial but she hasn’t gotten back to me about linking up. I’m sure it is just the time of year – everyone is super busy. So I’ll post the link here and if there is any objection I’ll just take it down.
edited to add: Julie contacted me and she said, “Thanks for linking to my tutorial. I appreciate it!”
If you have been to my blog before, you may have heard me whining about how slow I am with projects. Well, this one even I did pretty quick – 2 afternoons and done ! I decided to stitch in the ditch for the quilting and decided to try out some invisible thread. It ended up being just the right choice… after I got my tension adjusted properly (#3 on my Bernina)

100_2534

I think it looks a little bigger in the picture than the 15″ across it actually is. I think if I ever make another one I will fussy cut the square-in-square block. I realized this would have been the thing to do after the fact !

Oh yeah, and the binding was a little scary, not being 90* and all. A blog reader even sent me a link to her tutorial for just this kind of situation but I was half way through the binding before I realized I was doing it my own “special” way… jeeze. Oh well, it worked out and my sister doesn’t sew, perhaps she won’t notice, shhhhh.

Here’s the back:

100_2535_2

The second gift I have given this week is this table topper I showed you as a WIP back here
I’m in a constant state of learning with my projects. With this one I made the drunkards path block with it’s curved seams for the first time and did some drunken looking FMQ (I think Shirley noticed but was very kind in her comments) and I also gave bias binding a try… definitely need practice there !

100_2519

100_2521

I finished it up just in time to give it to my 91 year old mother’s home-care provider. Shirley has just been angel to my mother. I’m happy for her that she is able to retire but we are going to miss her sooo very much !

100_2537_2

Have a wonderful weekend everyone !

I’d love it if you left a comment. The thingie to click on is up by the date on the left hand side.

linking up with Amanda and her Finish it up Friday

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quiltncards
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 17:59:04

    That is an odd place for comments… I have seen some others like it though.

    I love your table toppers. Especially the one you gave to your Mom’s helper. You do a lovely job. Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs

    Like

    Reply

  2. Super Mom - No Cape!
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 05:04:37

    Both gifts are lovely! And I’m sure they will be loved and appreciated.

    Like

    Reply

  3. allisonreidnem
    Dec 14, 2014 @ 06:41:26

    More great finishes Colleen! I’m taking inspiration from your willingness to try new techniques – definitely want to stretch myself too but I’ll wait to the new year!
    Allison

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

