Rainbow Kisses

I finally have something finished to show here ! I’m calling this one “Rainbow Kisses”.

fullsizeoutput_30f

The quilt measures approximately 48″x60″. I used Alyces’ Tic Tac Toe block tutorial to make the blocks. The batik kiss fabrics are from a Timeless Treasures 10″ square bundle I bought several years ago. I’m so happy that I have been able to use half of them… I’m taking suggestions on how to use the remaining 20 squares ! The background fabrics were all bought here and there as stash fabrics.

img_8798

For the quilting I had started doing an organic wavy line pattern and then picked it all out and went with this crosshatch grid-work. I’m happy that I went to the trouble of starting over; I think this emphasizes the kisses better.

fullsizeoutput_30c

After auditioning several binding fabrics I used the same fabric for the binding as I had used for the backing – another batik. I think this is the “year of the batik” for me !

Sorry about these pictures. The quilt is actually quite square but it was hard keeping it pinned in place against the building. The pictures were taken earlier in the week under grey skies and windy conditions. I had looked at the weather forecast and decided to do the photo shoot under less than perfect conditions because the temperature was dropping through the week and it is now minus 27 degree celsius !!! and still windy !

Keep warm !   Thanks for having a look !

I’m linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yanicka
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 19:35:15

    I just love rainbow quilts!!! Great job

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. anudge
    Dec 09, 2016 @ 21:24:07

    Very cute and colorful. Congrats on your finish.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Janice Holton
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 01:36:39

    Colleen, what a great rainbowy finish! Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Heide
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 07:50:44

    Such a pretty finish!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Ariane
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 08:24:39

    This quilt is beautiful! Congrats on a wonderful finish!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Mary Marcotte
    Dec 10, 2016 @ 21:56:57

    Those kisses (or maybe the hugs) really pop against those pretty blues and white background. Aptly named, too!

    Like

    Reply

  7. allisonreidnem
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 17:10:43

    The layer cake kisses look great against the grey background prints. I especially like the grid quilting. I often read that it’s best to quilt a curvy design over very linear quilt blocks but, as they say, ‘rules are made to be broken’!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. Barb N
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 09:46:24

    Just wanted to pop in and say how much I like your quilt! Perfect in every way.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

