Amy and Karen

I recently needed a birthday gift to give to a very special person in my life. Having difficulty coming up with an idea; I settled on a combination of handmade and a few little purchased goodies.

I chose an Amy Butler print that I knew she’d like because I  had previously made her this. For the lining I used a Karen Lewis print. The project got off to a rocky start … oops

100_4189

A little unpicking and re-arranging and I had it done:

100_4190

I added a few goodies and I think it turned out pretty good.

100_4200

100_4196

I hope she likes it !

While I was in pouch making  mode, I also made this little pouch for keeping my eyeglass cleaning solution and microfiber cloth in:

100_4268

100_4285

I haven’t been posting much lately because we’ve been busy on our farm with harvest.

100_4236

The little tractor and grain cart on the right is usually where you find me these days. My daughter was home for the weekend so I was able to take this action shot of them ‘catching on the go’. My husband is operating the combine and is unloading the thrashed grain from the combine hopper while continuing to combine the standing wheat. Catching on the go saves a tremendous amount of time over the course of a season.

Thanks for having a look. Since the Amy Butler fabric is essentially a scrap left over from the insulated lunch bag project, I’ll be linking up with Nicky and Leanne for Scraptastic Tuesday.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey Holzer
    Sep 13, 2016 @ 16:10:06

    Your friend should love her gifts!
    It hasn’t been wet up there? We haven’t combined for a week now because of the wet weather. We have 18 quarters of flax and durum left to go. Happy harvesting to you guys!!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Sep 14, 2016 @ 06:55:54

      Thanks Tracey ! Yeah, the weather has been awful here too. There have been little rain showers going through so we are taking it off tough when we can. We have been putting it through the dryer as well as bagging it. Lots of extra work but the days are getting shorter !!! Hoping for clear skies and good harvesting weather for us all !

      Like

      Reply

  2. Nicky
    Sep 13, 2016 @ 18:46:24

    Great gift and a Karen Lewis lining is always a great idea in my book. Glad you could make another for yourself ! Looks like a very big field to harvest – so lovely to see where our food comes from. Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday.

    Like

    Reply

  3. sewsingular
    Sep 16, 2016 @ 08:33:36

    Very cute pouches!

    Like

    Reply

  4. allisonreidnem
    Sep 21, 2016 @ 12:28:30

    That fabric works perfectly for the purses. I’m not harvesting but I’ve got way behind reading blog posts! Hope the weather has been kinder to you in the days since you published this post.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

