Dabbling with Dyes

100_3802

Recently I’ve been doing some dying with fiber reactive dyes.

The  picture above and the next few below all started with tone on tone fabric from the local fabric shop. I tried a small sample and found that the underlying fabric picked up the dye whereas the printed tone over it did not. If I’ve included a white or light fabric in the picture that is showing what the fabric looked like before the dye bath.

100_3801

100_3800

100_3964

100_3962

The white dots on the orange-ish fabric are from an experiment with soy wax. There must be different grades of soy wax and this particular wax did not resist as well as it should for use with cold batch dyes.

The next two pictures are printed fabrics from my stash that I over dyed to see what would happen:

100_3805

100_3804

Most of the dye samples were quite small but I still wanted to make something with them and so made a couple of pin cushions.

100_3966

dyed triangles pin cushion

100_3969

bottom side of above pin cushion

100_3970

dyed geese and chambray pin cushion

Neither of these pin cushions photographed very well but I’m sure you get the idea.

Then I went on to do some water colour type of painting on some plain cotton. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with these samples. Maybe frame them with a solid fabric and work them into a pouch.

100_3981

100_3983

Just in case you are wondering… I have dabbled with dyes on and off for a very long time. When processed properly the fiber reactive dyes are brilliant and permanent and work very well on all natural fibers. They don’t fade, even after repeated washings. They are economical, safe, and easy to use. In my opinion; much better than dylon or rit dyes.

Thanks for having a look.

Enjoy your weekend.

I’m linking up with Fort Worth Fabric Studio for Fabric Frenzy Friday !

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 10:31:58

    That’s so interesting seeing how the tone on tone fabrics react to dye. And your art works are really stylish, did you those sort of designs on your ceramics/pottery? You might like to check out ‘folio and fibre’ an occasional blog post by a friends daughter – she uses dyes and stitching and all sorts.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Aug 09, 2016 @ 07:39:05

      Thanks Allison. Yeah, I thought it was cool too. Theoretically speaking, I guess I could make all my own solids/near solids but would I … probably not ! 🙂
      I did go through a stage of decorating my pots in a similar fashion but the materials and process are so different with clay and glazes – painting on fabric is SO much easier and instantaneous !!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    • Colleen
      Aug 09, 2016 @ 07:57:40

      I have been meaning to do a post about my past fabric painting adventures… when my kids were small I found the clay process did not lend itself well to very short time/work cycles and did mostly fabric painting and dyeing. I was a juried marketing member of our provinces’ craft council, did large craft markets and taught community classes in painting on silk and cotton. Fun times !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

