Upcycling

You know those vinyl zippered bags that new sheets, mattress pads , tablecloths ect come packaged in ?

100_4102

Well, I’ve always felt weird about putting them in the recycle bin. I’ve used them for storage of course but always wondered if there wasn’t something else I could do with them. So the other day I got an idea and gave it a try.

100_4117

See-thru vinyl pouches !

The mattress pad bag came with a two way zipper so I was able to cut down the zipper and use the same zipper on two pouches.

100_4105

The zipper pull was really ugly but it was easy to cut off and tie on a replacement. For the first two pouches I made my own ‘binding’ out of some stash fabric that goes amazingly well with the opaque vinyl. This fabric has been a ‘problem child’ in the sewing room – that blue does not play well with other blues !

I made a couple of quilt blocks for a baby quilt and am now kinda stuck because I haven’t been able to find more colours to co-ordinate with that blue. Oh well !

100_4111

The vinyl wasn’t that hard to work with but I found using my clover clips and masking tape very helpful.

100_4118

I still had lots of vinyl left over so I made a few pouches using some ready made binding – or maybe it’s called bias tape. I used two rows of stitching on each tape; one close to the zipper and the other on the outside edge to make sure the vinyl was secured between the folds.

I had cut my binding fabric strips 2″ and after pressing them in half and then half again I think they were still a bit chunky looking. I think the store bought tape looks a little neater.

100_4140

Both of these pouches measure approximately 8″x 6″. I had a meter (40″) of each bias tape and only had a few inches left when I was done. I also found out that vinyl is hard to photograph !

In other news: we have been getting a site ready for a new grain bin

100_4125

That’s my husband tamping down the gravel over where we have installed drainage pipe and there will soon be a large concrete pad poured for the bin floor. It doesn’t look like much but believe me there are a tremendous number of hours involved in getting the foundation ready for a bin that will hold 2,400,400 pounds of wheat or just over 1 thousand metric tonnes.

100_4128

This is the view from my office… just kidding ! I turned 180 degrees from the last picture and this is the wheat field west of the bin site. We’ve been getting a nice amount of rain this year and the crops are looking good.

Thanks for having a look. Have a lovely weekend.

I’ll be linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it up Friday.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janice Holton
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 11:48:49

    Way to think outside the box! Very creative! I enjoy seeing your projects around the farm.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Sylvia B. Lewis
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 11:59:14

    I save those bags too! But I love your idea of cutting them up to reuse the vinyl in bags!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sharon Browne
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 12:32:13

    What a great idea! I’m going to try making some myself. Great way to recycle too. Thanks.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Mary at Fleur de Lis Quilts
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 13:42:24

    I’m sort of lazy, I guess, I just use them as they come. Since I have so many I can usually find one to fit the need. Your idea is way better…make the bag look good while it’s working! Yes, that’s much better. Very creative!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sandra B
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 14:54:33

    Love your idea! I save those zippered bags as well, and keep fat quarters in them, but I like the idea to repurpose them into project bags! Thanks for the inspiration!!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Tami Von Zalez
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 15:10:29

    Yay for repurposing! I like to use those bags to store my linens I am not using.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jul 22, 2016 @ 15:45:02

    Wow! We don’t have grain bins where I live and your land is so flat! Not a hill in sight! I’m not far from the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina. There are lots of trees, but no wheat fields! I like your vinyl pouches!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jul 23, 2016 @ 07:37:39

      Thanks Sandy ! North Carolina is on my bucket list. I lived in the Rocky Mountains for several summers and would love to go to the Appalachians. There are so many very talented potters and crafts people in NC too.

      Like

      Reply

  8. Jenny Benton
    Jul 23, 2016 @ 03:21:00

    Oh dear – I’ve just thrown two of those bags out! Never mind, I’ll know better next time.

    Like

    Reply

  9. allisonreidnem
    Jul 24, 2016 @ 14:41:17

    Great idea Colleen – those bags look really professional and very useful. Glad to see you are preparing for a good harvest too ☺

    Like

    Reply

  10. jody
    Jul 27, 2016 @ 14:26:36

    boy are you the resourceful one! I am impressed with your beautiful pouches! The other day I used a new shower liner to sandwich between cotton and terry cloth changing blankets. I felt smug! But then I realized that they would have to be line dried. Oh well. Maybe there are some new mothers out there that still use a clothes line!!!!
    xox

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jul 28, 2016 @ 07:02:26

      oh, I don’t know about the change pad having to be line dried. I have sprayed a vinyl shower curtain with vinegar and water, rinsed and then put it in the dryer on low heat for a short period of time and immediately hung it back up. This was in an effort to get rid of mineral & soap build up. It worked ok but I just buy new ones now. I think if you caught the vinyl in the edge stitching so it doesn’t twist in the wash it will be ok.

      Like

      Reply

  11. Dawn
    Jul 28, 2016 @ 08:34:50

    Brilliant!!! I always save those bags, thinking I’ll use them to store something. I think I’ll make a couple of bags for my son before his travel to Europe in September. Thanks for sharing your idea!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

