Wants and needs

Although my son didn’t know it, he needed new pillow cases and I wanted a quick sewing project !

100_4066

masculine prints were needed- second from the left reminds me of sprocket wheels .

Happily, both could be satisfied with a trip to the fabric store and a good pillow case tutorial from Ashley over at Film in the Fridge.

100_4068

I have used this tutorial before and I like it for it’s clear instructions and great results. The pillow cases have a nice cuff, a pop of detailĀ in that trim and french seams so they don’t fray.

100_4086

I didn’t pre-wash my fabrics so they look at bit roomy on the pillows here. I am expecting the cases to shrink up a bit.

100_4090

That’s my finish for the week !

Thanks for having a look. Have a delightful weekend !

linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny Coyle
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 14:34:53

    Lovely work! I am pinning that pattern (the trim detail will make a nice change from the basic pillowcase pattern that I usually use).

    Like

    Reply

  2. Heide
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 16:57:20

    What great guy pillow cases! love the fabric that you used.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jul 16, 2016 @ 05:46:22

      Thanks Heide, those fabrics are quite different from my usual purchases. But it was fun to figure out masculine combinations for a 20 something guy !

      Like

      Reply

  3. Mary at Fleur de Lis Quilts
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 21:54:17

    I’ve used several patterns from Ashley. They’ve all been easy to follow and understand. Your son’s pillowcases are all really nice–masculine but coordinating. Gotta love that pop of trim.

    Like

    Reply

  4. jody
    Jul 19, 2016 @ 07:10:59

    Happiness is a quick project that turns out so nicely! Love your pillowcases.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

