A Bit Risky

Well, it’s been almost exactly a year since I finished designing this quilt top and I have just now finished the flimsy. By ‘designing’ I mean choosing and cutting the fabrics and deciding on a layout; not that it is my own original design. While at a fabric store I found 2 fabrics that I really liked and challenged myself to come up with a quilt design by picking random fabrics rather than using a collection of fabrics.  I’m not sure what to call this quilt – perhaps Trip Around the World ?

100_3988

I had taken the 4.5″ squares off my design wall in rows and it was a bit of a mystery quilt reveal as I sewed the rows together a year later because I couldn’t remember which colour sequence I had settled with. That coral colour is quite hard to photograph; it looks much nicer in person. The quilt top measures 60″x 60″ and I have pieced together a backing and taken it off to be quilted. I’ve chosen two different threads for the top and bobbin which is unusual for me… and the top colour is a bit risky !  :-0  I hope it looks good.

100_3990

Another finish I have to show you also started as a spontaneous fabric store purchase.

100_4021

Awhile back they had a big one day sale at the fabric store and I purchased this whole pile of leather for $3.50 !! woot – woot, I felt like a thief !! ( the spool of thread is for scale )

100_4010

100_4018

100_4017

basket measures 4.5″long x 3″wide x 1 5/8″tall

This little no-sew leather basket is made from a template found in Krista Fleckenstein’s book, “Beyond Cotton”. I obviously need more practice installing rivets and the proper tools would make it easier too ! I have this book out from the library but I will probably purchase my own copy. I really like the book.

Thanks for having a look, have a good weekend !

I’ll be linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday at CrazyMomQuilts.

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 10:44:45

    The trip around the world top looks stunning. I often wonder when I’m designing if I’m just ‘reinventing the wheel’! Those pieces of leather make perfect little containers ☺ Have a good weekend too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. jody
    Jun 24, 2016 @ 11:19:18

    I love your little leather cachepot! So wonderful. And congrats on your design – it’s refreshing to see a quilt that has carefully chosen fabrics instead of the cookie-cutter effect… (speaking of which, I’m doing one of those cookie cutters currently!) It takes a lot less effort when the choices are made for you (fat quarter bundles)- so CONGRATS on being both brave and creative.
    xox

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jun 25, 2016 @ 06:07:45

      Thanks Jody…. I can’t imagine anything made by you looking cookie cutterish. Have you seen Amy Friend’s new book, Intentional Piecing ? There are elements included that made me think of the bookcase quilt you made for Fiona.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Mary at Fleur de Lis Quilts
    Jun 25, 2016 @ 09:13:19

    Your quilt is gorgeous. That coral really does the design trick. It pulls everything together and pops enough to make the design stand out. I really like that you added it in.
    Your leather basket is the perfect size for your clips. Did you have that in mind all along or did they just meet and fall in love? lol Maybe its a player, because the thread looks happy, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Celia
    Jun 25, 2016 @ 12:59:17

    I love the colors you chose for your quilt. Really lovely design. Somehow this makes me think of my grandmother….something about the coral and navy and the floral squares remind me of her garden blooming.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jun 26, 2016 @ 07:52:07

      Thanks Celia. You are very perceptive, other people that have seen the fabrics in person have made similar comments about the colour pallet being of another generation.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Carie
    Jun 26, 2016 @ 04:16:22

    It’s a beautiful trip around the world, I love the colours that you’ve used! And that little basket is just so clever isn’t it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

