Let’s Pretend

I finished a baby quilt this week ! The quilt was practically flying off the wall as I was taking these photos even though I used about a dozen pins to secure it. The weather has been extremely windy and overcast for days here.

100_3992

I bought this fabric several years ago, when it first came on the market so I’m really happy to have finally settled on a plan and jumped in. I added in a few extra prints from my stash and decided on a simple ‘brick’ style of block and layout. The quilt measures 41″ x 50″.

100_3993

100_3996

I have seen lots of quilt panels at quilt shops but most of them don’t interest me too much. This panel is designed by Sarah Jane and I make an exception for her – I have to say that I like all of her panels and supporting fabrics. They really tell a story and her drawings are quite original and non-commercial looking, IMO. This collection is called “Let’s Pretend”.

 

For the backing I used the print called “Best Fort Ever”.

100_3998

100_4001

How cute, eh ? It is just so reminiscent of imaginative, creative play. I wonder how many kids see large empty boxes and even think of the possibilities anymore ?

I still have enough of these fabrics to make another quilt about this size. I’ll probably try something a little different rather than making this same quilt over again.

100_3997

Thanks for having  a look !

I’ll be linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it up Friday.

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth @ Cooking Up Quilts
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 09:28:26

    This quilt is one of the most adorable baby quilts I’ve seen in a while! I love the addition of the panel and the fabrics coordinate with it beautifully. I haven’t seen these panels before, thanks for sharing the info because I would love to make one of these for my niece.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jun 18, 2016 @ 06:19:24

      Thanks Beth, the panels are lined up along the selvedge edge so you cut them anywhere along the white areas and get two panels. I ordered 1.25 yards because I wanted my quilt to be wider than 36″.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Jen
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 12:38:46

    Love this quilt! It’s so cheerful and colorful! Great finish💗😄

    Like

    Reply

  3. Megan
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 13:19:48

    This is so much fun! Beautifully done!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Janice Holton
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 23:12:54

    Found you on Crazy Quilt Mom’s linky party. I LOVE your baby quilt. I think your decision to make an exception on buying a panel was a good one and that fabric on the back! Oh, brings back memories!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sew Much For Free Time
    Jun 19, 2016 @ 20:56:10

    This is super cute, and your quilting is perfect for it. I love the cross hatch on the panel. I think the leftovers would be cute in a pinwheel or churndash. Traditional meets modern. Have a super week!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jun 20, 2016 @ 05:58:14

      Thank-you so much… I really wondered about incorporating the two different straight line quilting so I really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

