Pointedly Overcompensating

I have a bunch of scraps left over from this quilt and decided to make a matching pillow to go with the quilt. Not being a really ‘matchy-matchy’ person I wasn’t particularly concerned about re-creating the quilt block. The best scraps were the cut-offs from the jelly rolls and the left-over yardage from the setting triangles and backing so that is what I concentrated on using.

100_3987

I started by paper piecing a bunch of half rectangle triangles that finish at 2″ x 4″.

100_3960

This 18″ pillow is what I ended up with !

100_3943

I’m not a big fan of doggy eared pillows so I tried to soften the corners a bit. You can see how I trimmed the angles a little better without the pillow form.

100_3947

100_3959

There’s a shot of the back. I prefer the zipper style back over the envelope style back.

100_3952

So all those lost points that I was boo-hooing about here have been compensated for and all is right in my (quilting) world again, lol !

Thanks for taking a look, hope all is right with you !

Linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it up Friday.

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca Grace
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 10:04:20

    I think your pillow looks fantastic, and you did a great job rounding off the corners. It’s hard to do that sometimes with a pieced pillow cover without compromising the geometry of the piecing. Your pillow looks nice and square and I love your fabric combinations.

    Like

    Reply

  2. allisonreidnem
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 13:36:24

    Lovely and very inventive! It’s a great pillow pattern and must be especially satisfying to have been putting together scraps to make it.I tend to avoid zips and do envelope backs and in my most recent pillow covers I’ve added a couple of buttons to stop the opening gaping.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sharon Browne
    Jun 04, 2016 @ 11:09:28

    Love your pillow and your fabric choices too. It has a vintage look to it. BTW, I found you through Crazy Mom Quilts.

    Like

    Reply

  4. jody
    Jun 07, 2016 @ 07:56:31

    Colleen, I love your pillow, but I REALLY love your quilt! I’m on a fabric ‘diet’ so I cannot acquire any Kingswell, but I CAN quilt vicariously through your beautiful results! If I wait long enough the line will disappear.
    Keep up the gorgeous work.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Jun 08, 2016 @ 08:33:20

      lol, thanks Jody. I see that she has another fabric line coming out so maybe you’ll fall off the wagon by then ! I miss your posts – hope you’ll get things straightened out soon.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Nicky
    Jun 25, 2016 @ 20:39:44

    Great idea to team up a scrappy cushion with your quilt Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

