Hemming Clouds

Just a quick project to show you today but a finish is a finish.., right ? !

I spotted some double gauze at my local fabric shop awhile back and since a friend will be welcoming a new grandchild next month I thought I’d sew up a couple of swaddle blankets.

100_3931

I used 1.25 yards to make each blanket. After squaring them up I tried making 90 degree corners with a regular straight stitch. I soon discovered that this fabric sews a little different than most. Being so delicate, fine, wispy, diaphanous, chiffony ( is that a word ??) downright cobwebby , you get the idea… it was hard to hem, to say the least ! So the 90 degree corners looked like a blind monkey sewed them. I picked out that,  rounded the corners, prepped them with some stay stitching – which I highly recommend with this fabric – and made out much better with a largish zig zag stitch.

Hopefully the new parents and baby will like them. They should be just the thing for a baby in warm weather and they feel just like a cloud !

100_3934

Thanks for having a look – if you have any tips for sewing with double gauze, I’d love to hear them.

Enjoy your weekend.

linking up with Amanda at Crazymomquilts for Finish it Up Friday.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mari
    May 27, 2016 @ 13:49:58

    These are so useful! The ones they sell in stores are too tiny to use and they fall apart in the wash. The new parents are sure to love them!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

