Surgery

After last weeks  intense wrestle with the alligator, I rewarded myself by purchasing Nicole’s paper piecing pattern “Love Story”. (Anybody remember the chemistry between Ryan O’Neil and Ali McGraw in the movie by the same name ?… the theme song has taken up residence in my head, arghhhh.)

100_3701

The above picture is the first one I made; the middle square measures a little over 5″ before adding the frame. The fabric that makes up the heart is Bonnie and Camille’s Vintage Picnic that is just showing up in stores now. I had won a mini charm pack last year and when I saw Nicole’s pattern I knew just what I was going to use. The fabric used to frame the heart is by Lori Holt.

100_3703

The pattern includes two design variations and three block sizes. I think there are 37 pages of instruction, notes and tips, pattern pieces and colouring pages. It was a real pleasure to work with such a complete, well thought out pattern. Here is a link to her blog post introducing the pattern and have a look at the beautiful  Undercover Maker Mat that is a free tutorial.  I purchased the pattern on my own and am just including these links because I really enjoy celebrating smart women and creativity !

100_3703

The above is the second block I made. I haven’t done anything further with the second block…but the first one I turned into a potholder !

100_3706

100_3707

In other news…

It’s true that farmers have to wear many hats, this week I have become a plastic surgeon to that noncompliant alligator I wrote about last friday. I decided that one of his flaws that would probably bother me too much to leave was the transition line along his lower jaw. The pattern pieces were very vague and I didn’t realize that I was supposed to put a sliver of background fabric under the first section of his lower jaw to angle it. I thought about appliqué -ing some grass underneath him and just covering it up but I went the difficult route !

100_3691

Hopefully you can see what I’m talking about because I don’t know how to digitally draw on the picture to indicate it.

It sure would have been easier to do this before I sewed all the sections together ! On my  first try I added in too much background and got this :

100_3696

The second try was more what I had intended:

100_3700

So, there he is, even though there is one or two other problem areas, I think I am done and can get the quilt sandwich started. ( the alligator and background section measure about 16″ x 26″, the top including the borders is crib sized)

100_3699

Hope you all have a lovely weekend that may involve chocolates and flowers !

I’m off on a road trip so I guess I’ll have to buy my own 🙂

Happy Valentines Day everyone !

linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it Up Friday.

 

 

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ann
    Feb 12, 2016 @ 11:45:55

    Adorable! Love them both!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Nicole @ Mamalovequilts
    Feb 12, 2016 @ 11:51:59

    That is the cutest potholder! Very festive!

    Like

    Reply

  3. allisonreidnem
    Feb 13, 2016 @ 16:31:37

    It can only be a year or so ago that you resolved to improve your foundation piecing skills. Now is the time to award yourself gold medal standard. The heart looks amazing and your ability to make changes to the finished alligator shows a lot of skill gained from experience and practice. Do you think you might design and publish your patterns?

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Feb 18, 2016 @ 06:59:37

      Thank-you so much Allison !
      I’m not sure where this sewing may take me. It would be great to recover some of my costs in some way because it sure is expensive. On the other hand I already know that it is very difficult to turn a profit on anything handmade – sewing more so than my pottery was. I have sold a few things but for now I’m just enjoying “making”.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. Jody
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 09:26:46

    I like this heart so much! It’s rounded edges are pleasing – more so than anything that I’ve seen recently. LOVE your fabric chose too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

