A Quilt for my Son

This is the quilt that I made for my son. It has been finished for awhile now but I was really disappointed with the longarm quilting so it has been folded away in a dark corner. I think when disappointment strikes it is best to leave some time and space… move on to other things and look at it with fresh eyes at a later date. So that’s what I’ve done and it’s time to quit pouting and show it to the world !

100_3475

This is the largest quilt I have ever made. It measures aproximately 71″ x 86.5″.

The fabric collection is Parson Grey’s “Seven Wonders” with some Robert Kauffman Essex linen dusty blue, russet and lime as well as some solid brown for the background. Nobody does masculine prints like David Butler !

I used the “rain” print for the backing.

100_3461

100_3471

100_3465

The blocks are 15.5″ and made with hst’s. I didn’t follow any pattern, I just started putting up blocks on my design wall and went from there.

I wanted to bring the quilt up to a twin size so I added a 4.5″ border

There are a lot of problems with the quilting on this quilt. The person that I took the quilt to owns a professional longarm business and she has done quite acceptable edge to edge quilting for me in the past. With this quilt I paid extra for the centre to be quilted with one swirling design and for the border to have a separate quilt pattern. As you can see in the close-up below, there are quite a few wobbles and the centre of the pattern crosses at different places everywhere.

100_3477

click the picture to see more detail

I didn’t take any close-ups of the backing but there are a lot of little “nests” of thread where she may have been having tension issues with her bobbin. I am not sure if I should try and pick out some of the loops of thread to make these less noticeable and risk having the quilting loosen or just leave them ? I haven’t voiced my unhappiness to the longarmer – she is not a person that would benefit from a discussion as she would just get defensive and throw off any constructive criticism. Needless to say I haven’t taken her any more quilts !

I am gradually getting over my disappointment and seeing the quilt as a whole in these pictures has helped. I am happy with it now instead of just seeing the mistakes. The next step will be to wash it… it still has all the chalk markings on the border and perhaps some of the wobbles will sink into the batting and be less obvious.

100_3482

Thanks for having a look. Enjoy your weekend !

Linking up with Amanda at CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it up Friday.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Hall
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 10:36:17

    it is a really lovely quilt and its very sad that you are not happy with the quilting. Is it too late to give some feedback to the quilter? I’m suprised she let it go from her workshop with obvious loose tension areas, It is not a great way to get recommendations from customers!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Nov 13, 2015 @ 11:51:07

      actually Sue, that was part of my disappointment. I had been a good customer to that quilter and I felt that she should have mentioned that she had machine problems or something about the messy border or whatever when I picked up the quilt and paid for her services.

      Like

      Reply

  2. allisonreidnem
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 06:02:56

    The patchwork pattern and your use of fabrics and colour are brilliant. I love the depth you’ve created and using an on point finish gives it all movement too. It is a shame the longarm quilter let you down so badly, I’m glad you can now look at your lovely quilt with fresh eyes and see beyond the disappointment. I think I’d leave the nests alone and see what happens once it’s been washed, but I’ve no experience of dealing with such a problem.
    PS. Your photos are great too!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Tracey
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 08:47:11

    Well, the quilt itself is gorgeous, Colleen. I have never had a quilting disappointment like this, nor can I imagine the emotion of making a gorgeous quilt and having less than quilting. (We have a FABULOUS long armer in our guild) But I will say that I think you should have said something to the longarmer, hard as that is to do though. Its hard to find masculine fabric a lot of the time, heh? You take very nice photos!!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Nov 15, 2015 @ 08:47:44

      Yes, you are right, I should have said something. I’m sure she knew what she was handing over and small town politics being what they are…
      You are lucky to have a talented longarmer in your guild.
      I have found a place where I can rent a longarm and do it myself !

      Like

      Reply

  4. Linda Smith
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 14:48:33

    If it has thread nests on the back, I would take it back and just point to them. The less talk the better, Just point. She needs to fix it.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Linda Smith
    Nov 17, 2015 @ 15:46:12

    I would go ahead and take it back to her and show her the thread nests. Before you wash it. Just show it and ask what she thinks. Let the work speak for itself and let her answer for her work.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Emily
    Nov 19, 2015 @ 20:34:56

    This is a great guy quilt. Can’t imagine the disappointment you must have felt when the quilting did not live up to what you had hoped. It really looks great in your pictures Glad you shared it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

