The Fox and the Mermaid

Bonjour les amis !

( Hello friends )

I have a finish for friday and it’s a cute 40″ square baby quilt.

100_3189

The fabrics are from a Patty Sloniger collection called Les Amis. I used a Michael Miller solid called ‘fog’ for the background. This is the 3rd quilt I have made from these fabrics and I haven’t grown tired of them yet. Which is a good thing because I probably have enough to make another crib sized quilt.

100_3190

I didn’t get too fancy with my quilting, choosing to stay with my go-to serpentine stitch.

100_3191

While I usually do a pieced back I kept this one quite plain. I found this plaid at the “local” fabric shop and went with it.

100_3195 - Version 2

The title of my post today is ” The Fox and the Mermaid”, have you spotted the mermaid ?

100_3200

… it’s the name of the Michael Miller cotton couture fabric I used for the binding.

Hands down, one of my top ten favourite colours !

Thanks for stopping by.

Have a super weekend, linking up with CrazyMomQuilts for Finish it up Friday.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 10:28:05

    This is a lovely little quilt Colleen. I like the way you’ve used one big block, it’s very striking. We have had a whole day of rain ☺ which is just what we needed. Are you still suffering from a drought?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Carie
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 17:01:39

    Oh what a sweet baby quilt. I love the colours and the fox!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Robin Loves Quilting
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 19:56:54

    I loved this quilt in the pieced stage, and the quilting just adds so much! Also, that backing is gorgeous as well.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Dolores
    Aug 21, 2015 @ 19:48:46

    Sorry, I didn’t find the mermaid. Great looking quilt.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Aug 22, 2015 @ 08:02:10

      Thanks Dolores ! I had the answer under the last picture… the Mermaid part of the title is because I used one of my favourite colours for the binding and the name of the colour is “Mermaid” 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  5. Trackback: Speedy Speedster | PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

