The faster I go, the behinder I get

I’ve been pretty busy helping out with the seeding operation going on at our farm during these past few weeks. I have been trying to squeeze a little sewing in here and there, though. This crib sized quilt has been basted and ready for quilting since last November ! I decided to quilt it in a meander/stipple and set about doing just that knowing that I would probably only be able to do it in short sessions. The quilting went fairly well and soon I was trimming and squaring up the quilt, ready to sew on the binding and that’s when I noticed this incorporated onto back…

100_2932 and this 100_2930

I keep a collection of small scraps of fabric to the right of my machine to use as ‘spiders’ when I am starting to piece. I use these because my Bernna cannot be deprogramed from taking the securing stitches at the start of sewing – how annoying. You would think that a machine specifically made for quilters wouldn’t do that. Anyways, that’s how the little bits got sewn to the back of my quilt – they were picked up and sewn onto the back as I moved the quilt around FMQ’ing. I really should have cleared off my space before starting… but the faster I go, the behinder I get ! Has this ever happened to you ? Anyways, here it is:

100_2978    and the back             100_2982

My daughter helped me with a quick photo shoot out on the railroad tracks. We were short on time and unfortunately the light wasn’t very good. This is the only full shot of the front I have so I guess it will have to do.

100_2965                             100_2967

The fabric is called Cruiser Boulevard you know, transportation/traffic theme ??? Photos on the railroad tracks beside Saskatchewan’s second busiest highway was supposed to go with the theme of the fabric. The funny thing about living in the middle of nowhere is that you have so much space to work with, well, things tend to get lost in the landscape ! So, what you probably can’t see from these photos, well maybe the one with the quilt in the tree, is that the layout of the blocks echoes some of the design elements in the fabric. I was so happy to stumble upon Jera’s free quilt pattern and realize that it was perfect for this bundle of fat quarters. Jera has lots of other great free patterns on her site as well.

Edited to add: There has been some concern in the comment section about the location of my second photo shoot. Thank – you for your concern but please, let me assure you, I am not a reckless person. We can see up the tracks 2 miles and down the tracks at least 4 miles. The train engineer is required to blast his horn at every crossing which is every 1 mile. These tracks are only for freight trains and the traffic is light and not too speedy. So we can hear and see any train coming well in advance. I mentioned that “we were short on time”, because of other commitments, not that there was a train coming. All of my ‘children’ are in their 20’s and if I ever get a dumb idea, they are the first to let me know !

I love to hear from you, please leave a comment. The comment link is up at the top of the post by the date. Linking up with Amanda for Finish it up Friday @ CrazyMomQuilts

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tubakk
    May 22, 2015 @ 10:41:42

    Ha, ha, good to see that this happens to others, too. I’ve learnt that I have to clear my sewing space before quilting. Nice quilt with bright colours, that I love.

    Like

    Reply

  2. allisonreidnem
    May 22, 2015 @ 12:01:34

    I really like the fabrics you have used – they do go well with this quilt pattern. I’ve seen variations of the pattern in books and magazines and always liked it.
    Your outside spaces are very BIG! My brother drives commuter trains on a very busy line from the south coast to London, he’d have a fit if he ever saw any doing a photo shoot on the line!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      May 23, 2015 @ 06:16:35

      Hi Allison, I edited to add some more information about the railroad photo shoot. I understand your concern but you will see the situation is quite different here – you can tell your brother about the ‘crazy Canuck’, for some giggles though ! I took a train from Dover to London once, good times !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. Sandy
    May 22, 2015 @ 19:36:22

    Standing on RR tracks is not a good idea! Suggestion: Instead of ‘spiders’ to start have you tried Leaders & Enders? Check out Bonnie Hunter’s blog for info.

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      May 23, 2015 @ 06:07:01

      Hi Sandy, I have edited to add some information about the railroad shoot. I do appreciate your concern. Thanks for your suggestion, I’ll have to check Bonnies’ site for specifics but I think the initial securing stitches will still happen no matter what I start with.

      Like

      Reply

  4. allisonreidnem
    May 23, 2015 @ 11:50:44

    Thanks for clearing up the railroad photo shoot Colleen! There is obviously no comparison between the situation where you are and this crowded little island – where only the Romans managed to build straight lines through our countryside!

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      May 24, 2015 @ 06:06:10

      Yup, Saskatchewan is well known ( and often joked about) for being so flat. There is a song from a very popular TV show, Corner Gas, that contain the lyrics, “”You can tell me that your dog ran away, then tell me that it took three days.”. Referring to the flat vista allowing you to still see the dog running for three days !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  5. Robin Loves Quilting
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 20:00:03

    What an adorable quilt! The triangle seed to the back cracked me up, because I have done the same thing a number of times. Keeps my stitch-ripping skill sup to par, I guess.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

