Sunday Stash for May

Hello, it’s been a tough week and I’m glad that tomorrow brings a new week with lots of positive potential. Speaking of positive potential; what do you think I should do with these ?

100_2938 - Version 2

Mad About Patchwork had some really good sales last month and I picked up all this Hadley by Denyse Schmidt for a song. Well, o.k., if any of you heard me sing you would probably beg me to stop so lets just say that the fabric was a great bargain ! I have to say that this fabric collection is really special when you see it in person, I am so happy with these new additions. Here’s a close up of one of my favourites, the way it’s been printed it looks like a shadow effect happening:

100_2938

I don’t have a Hadley plan but hopefully I have bought enough that I can make a quilt and maybe some smaller items too. This is the way I usually purchase fabric and it certainly has it drawbacks. How ’bout you ? Do you find a pattern and then buy the fabric or the other way around ?

100_2936

I also bought a few half yards of linen mochi dot in putty, charcoal and turquoise. The texture on this is wonderful and I think it will make a nice contrast to the bottom of some zipper bags I want to sew… someday. Probably when there is snow on the ground again ! These last ones I actually do have a plan for. The project doesn’t have to be done until august so I should have enough time 😉

100_2942

The turquoise dots are from Bonnie and Camille’s Daysail collection and the purple ones are from Biology by Sarah Watson. Kind of funny that the project is for a chemistry major !

100_2941

Thanks for having a look, please leave a comment, the clickie thing is up at the top by the date. linking up with the fearless leader of the Glitterati, Mollie Sparkles .

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louisa
    May 03, 2015 @ 09:07:50

    I love those Denyse fabrics, I made a lovely Swoon quilt with another of her collections. I do tend to buy fabrics first, as I can’t resist, then find the pattern, but now I’m determined to use my stash… I’ll be raiding my quilting books for inspiration.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lucy @ Charm About You
    May 03, 2015 @ 10:54:27

    I love Hadley, I’m sure whatever you make will be gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply

  3. allisonreidnem
    May 05, 2015 @ 07:47:29

    My fabric buying is a bit haphazard too! I then spend ages looking through books trying to find a pattern that suits the amount of fabric I’ve bought! Actually Craftsy has a lot of free patterns so worth a look if you need inspiration. I don’t have a huge stash and I’m thinking it would be worth buying blender fabrics when they are on sale as these can be used to expand other fabrics to a quilt size project. (I’ve yet to share this plan with my husband!). 😉

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      May 06, 2015 @ 06:43:03

      That sounds quite close to my “process” ! The blenders at the fabric shop have been fun to mix into my smaller projects but I have been buying them in small amounts, probably not enough to work into a quilt.

      Like

      Reply

      • allisonreidnem
        May 06, 2015 @ 12:00:58

        Umm! I think that’s part of the problem with my fabric buying habits – I don’t buy large enough quantities – but a few metres of fabric adds up to quite an expense especially if there’s no immediate plan to use it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

