Experimental Sewing & what to do when SGHW

I recently bought the specialty ruler Hex n More. The ruler comes with a small booklet that includes strip cutting instructions and very basic piecing instructions. I was disappointed no starter project was included with the ruler. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have any problem with paying people for their ingenuity but her patterns are not available for digital download and this makes it very difficult for someone (like me) that lives in the middle-of-nowhere to get her hands on a pattern and get using the ruler !

Hence, the experimental sewing. I tried the hexagon and triangle combination and this is what I came up with:

100_2910

I did enjoy using the ruler because it makes the cutting of the fabric quite quick and accurate. The resulting pieces sew together easily.

100_2912

But then what to do with it ??? I fooled around cutting and sewing and re-arranging until I had used up most of these scraps I had delegated to “experimental” sewing. Of course I then felt obligated to come up with a use for the results that was not a potholder !

Ta Da…

100_2914

a journal cover !

100_2909

I was so pleased that I decided the above SWHW ( something went horribly wrong ) project could benefit from being transformed into a journal cover as well. If I do say so myself; a very slick way of getting rid of the fact I somehow lost my points in the coral coloured round of this nested churn dash block !

100_2918

100_2923

I hope to re-visit the nested churn dash pattern at some point and will stay a little more focused on accurate cutting and piecing, apparently it’s quite important 😉

If you have any SWHW projects that could use a reassignment, I used Rachel at Stitched in Color’s tutorial for the journal cover.

Thanks for dropping in. I’d love to hear any comments you may have, the thing to click on is up at the top by the date.

Have a lovely weekend !

linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it Up Friday.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    May 01, 2015 @ 11:43:07

    Your experiment with hexagons and triangles looks really interesting. And the book covers is a great way of using up orphan blocks – thanks for the link! Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

