More Experimenting

100_2796

Since my sewing with denim hot pad was a  success, I’ve progressed to sewing a placemat with the denim.

The quilting cotton block in the centre is also an experiment for a bigger block that I plan to make with some Alison Glass fabric, Handcrafted. I am nuts about the AG fabric and am more than a little scared to cut into it.

As I was making these blocks for the placemat I took some pictures to share with you. You all probably know how to do this but here it is anyways:

100_2788

I cut 4 different fabrics into 6 x 9″ rectangles and laid them in a stack.

100_2789

then I made 3 cuts at slight angles.

100_2790

I then shuffled the fabrics in this order; the second from the left top piece went to the bottom of the stack, the 3rd from the left top two pieces went to the bottom and bottom piece came up to the top on the fourth stack.

100_2791

keeping the pieces in order, moving from left to right, take each top piece and sew together at an angle.

100_2792

because they are at an angle you have to off-set the seams. I found that by placing the two pieces of fabric so that they cross right where you begin your 1/4 ” seam off-sets them just right.

100_2793

your block ends up measuring 6 x 7.25″

100_2794

I made a mistake in the order I pieced them together but it didn’t seem to make a difference.

I then sewed the two straight sides together of 2 of the blocks and bordered it all with the denim.

100_2797

After putting the quilt sandwich together I stitched in the ditch between the quilting cotton and added the straight line quilting in red thread on the denim.

My fabric selection here was a bit of a momentous occasion. The green fabric is from my precious collection of Flea Market Fancy and the binding is from the Chicopee line. I call it ‘momentous’ because I have been ‘saving’ these fabrics. I need to convince myself to bring them to the light of day and use them up !

I haven’t washed the placemat yet so it will shrink a bit but I think I’ll make the denim borders a little smaller on the next one. If anyone wants the measurements of these borders just let me know in the comment section.The placemat is a little big right now, measuring 14.5 x 18.25″

100_2799

In determining the proportions for my placemat I had read somewhere that you should have a good amount of fabric around your dinner plate. This certainly fulfills that requirement but if I had all the placemats laid out at the chairs around the table the edges of the placemats would be overlapping and that would look kinda silly.

In other news I also made another hot pad to go with the experiment from the last post. It’s the first time I have tried raw edge appliqué.

100_2798

Thanks for reading this far !

Please leave a comment – it’s up at the top of the post by the date.

I’m linking up with Lee here at Freshly Pieced for WIP Wednesday !

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. knitnkwilt
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 02:21:49

    I always feel the same way: if I know it, everyone else must too. But there is probably someone out there who doesn’t! I haven’t tried that method yet, but the day is coming. Visiting from WIP Wed

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. allisonreidnem
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 13:59:31

    Hum! I have some fabrics that I don’t want to ‘spoil’ which is a bit silly really – especially when I look at your table mat and think how nice it must be for you to be able to see your special fabrics everyday. It’s interesting and inspiring seeing your ‘experiments’ – including the raw edge applique. Thanks for sharing through your posts. I’m off to experiment with quilt sandwiching…

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 14:26:28

      Thanks for your comments Allison. I thought the raw edge went well with the casual denim look. It really is nice to use handmade things, isn’t it ! Good luck with your sandwich making 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. springleafstudios
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 17:27:15

    I feel your “pain” in cutting into those precious fabrics. I tend to do the same. I just heard a talk by Carolyn Firedlander and she said she has finally loosened up about thinking of fabric as precious. For one, think of the pleasure of finally seeing them put to use in something you can enjoy. Plus there is always a new line that will be just as good.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

