Strings for my daughter

Happy New Year everyone !
I’m looking forward to a wonderful year ahead in 2015 and I wish you all the best for the new year as well.

This isn’t a recent finish but I’d like to show you the lap sized quilt and “matching” pillows I gave my oldest daughter at Christmas.

IMG_8416_2

The blocks were made in a string style of construction with a white strip placed first and the sides being added with alternating strips. Keeping the center strip aways the same will give you the lattice look. I had started with a fat quarter bundle of Amy Butler’s Lark fabric and made the pillows first. As I was making the blocks for the quilt I started becoming anxious about running out of fabric. Hence the addition of the yellow fabric. I think I was able to distribute it about the blocks well enough but of course my eye goes to it everytime and I wonder if it was a good decision.

IMG_8415_2

The backing was just some yardage from the fabric store and the dots are more Amy Butler.

 

IMG_8324
These are the first pillows I have ever made and I’m pretty happy with how they turned out. Not so happy about the color in this picture though !

The backing fabric is dark blue – not grey !

Oh well.

The envelope style of enclosure would have been easier but I like the zipper closure better for actually using the pillow.

IMG_8323

 

IMG_8318

IMG_8322

 

My daughter was quite happy with the gifts and they now reside on her couch in her apartment in “the big city “.

I’ll be linking up with Amanda for her Finish it up Friday

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allisonreidnem
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 14:35:50

    Happy New year! Thanks for sharing the pictures of the pillows and quilt. I like the yellow – it was a good choice – and I really like the way the white strips help to define the blocks and give somewhere for the eye to rest (if you know what I mean?). Looking forward to seeing more of your creations through 2015.
    Allison

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. autismandthecity
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 08:14:43

    Absolutely stunning. I love string quilts and Amy Butler so you’re ticking all my boxes at once! Very lucky daughter 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. karen berrisford-snow
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 12:55:04

    Love this quilt, gorgeous colours!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Terri Ann
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 02:26:16

    Lovely quilt, I like the shapes the white stripes make. Your pillows came out great. I avoided pillows for so long and now I’m kinda hooked on making them.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Trying to fit it all in | PieceMakerQuilts
  6. Trackback: The Second Quilt Quilted | PieceMakerQuilts

Leave a Reply

