Whoops

Yesterday I thought I would do a little foundation paper piecing, you know, because I’m all caught up on everything else, hahahahaha.

I have had a template for a christmas tree block for awhile now and gave it a spin… you know what’s coming don’t you…
Everything went well, see:

100_2538

until you look a little closer and there it is, there’s the whoops.

100_2539_2
zoom out for reference:
100_2539

I didn’t notice this little tear in the fabric until after I had my hot pad bound and I was admiring my work ! This is the first time this has happened to me and I’m pretty sure I poked my seam ripper through the fabric when I was removing the paper from the back ( gasp ! ) What does everyone else use to remove the paper ?? I will probably make another one you know… ‘fall of the horse and get right back on’, kind of thinking. I might try and put a few tiny stitches in the tear but maybe not – best to move on !

If you’d like to make some christmas trees of your own – without the tear, please. Here is the link.
Or maybe you have a suggestion on how I can hide fix this one, let me know !

Thanks for dropping by, the comment thingie is at the beginning of the post on the left by the date.

I think this project will qualify as a WIP because thanks to that tear I will be making another ! Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherry
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 14:07:17

    if you can undo the binding and get to the inside put a small piece of fusible web against the rip and iron it…it will keep it from fraying…easier said then done i am sure…but i do really love it

    Like

    Reply

  2. Mari
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 15:17:21

    The tree is really fun, even with the little tear! How about just appliqueing on a small patch? Since it’s a hotpad, it won’t matter much, plus it will keep the batting inside. The tree is darling, either way! Merry Christmas!

    Like

    Reply

  3. wendy
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 17:24:48

    Applique a little star over it, noone will ever know.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Karen @ Pieces of Contentment
    Dec 17, 2014 @ 20:01:26

    Oh dear, what a disappointing discovery this must have been. Maybe you can cover the spot with a snowflake or star embellishment/applique/quilting stitching? It still looks bright and cheery!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

