A little gift sewing

About a month ago I had seen a quilt block on Flicker that I just adoredloved it.
The scrappy fabrics used, the scale of the prints and the proportions of the block all really appealed to me. Oh, and the piecing was so well done too. I’m telling you, it was patchwork perfection !

Well lucky me/us, wouldn’t you know it – the person who created these lovelies recently, so generously, made a tutorial.

Within minutes of spotting the tutorial I was running out to my sewing room to make one and then had to run back and print out the instructions… at least I’m getting some exercise.

Here is what I made, it’s called an uneven 5 patch grid.

100_2516

and then I added borders
100_2517

and then I added all the rest to make it into a hot pad:
100_2524

and then I made another one. See, I’m getting better, the second one is a little straighter and a little less puckered.
100_2525

You can’t just gift one hot pad – it really should be a pair.

100_2526

Now that you’ve seen my sorry little attempt, would you like to see how a pro does it ?
You may notice that I changed the dimensions just a titch because I wanted to make my block justa little bigger.
You’ll find Rachel’s excellent work and wonderful tutorial right here

I’d love it if you would leave a comment – the thingie to click on is up at the top of this post on the left by the date.

P.S., Linking up with Amanda Jean for finish it up Friday.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jentracy17
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 18:10:05

    Well, I think they’re pretty great! What a nice gift!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 18:42:48

    Yay!! These are the first blocks I’ve seen made from my tutorial! They look wonderful!! Thank you so much for linking back! 😀

    Like

    Reply

    • Colleen
      Nov 29, 2014 @ 02:40:12

      Oh, thank-you so much for commenting and especially for the tutorial. I had meant to zip over to your blog and let you know what I was up to but I ran out of time this morning. I just got home – so nice to find your comment.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Dawn
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 07:40:29

    Very cute! I like quilt as you go pot holders and I think this would work!

    Like

    Reply

  4. allisonreidnem
    Nov 30, 2014 @ 16:54:28

    Hi! Colleen
    Thank you for sharing Rachel’s tutorial with us. Your pot holders look great. I’m thinking of making teacosies as gifts for some of my teapot user friends, maybe I’ll use the same block 🙂
    Allison

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Teje
    Dec 03, 2014 @ 14:31:02

    Hi Colleen! These are beautiful! I think this pattern is perfect for hot pads and your Fabrics are lovely! x Teje

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment