Another First

100_2462_2This is the quilt that started it all for me.

Yup, These are pictures of the first quilt I made.

It was about 3 years ago and I had stumbled across the tutorial for this quilt.  I decided that “Hey, I could do that !” It took me most of the winter on my 34 year old Kenmore sewing machine. I remember at one point thinking that I would have to read the next pattern more carefully and not choose one that said ” cut out 144 – 2.5″ squares and 144 – 2.5 x 3.5 rectangles” – that was alot of cutting for a newbie. I didn’t know that a 1/4 inch foot was needed or a walking foot would be a good idea. I didn’t know about squaring up blocks either – so I didn’t ! But somehow it all came together and turned out pretty good. Each block took me approximately one hour and is a 5.5 x 4.5 that makes up a quarter of each oval. The outer pieced border is made up of 1.5″ x 2.5″ strips and I was getting a little sick of working on the quilt – I just wanted it done and almost skipped this step. I’m really glad I persevered though because it really ads to the overall look of the quilt. 

100_2470

It measures about 52″ x 63″

I think it is still my favorite quilt.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennamarynowski
    Oct 22, 2014 @ 13:29:58

    My favourite too!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Anne in San Diego
    Dec 28, 2014 @ 17:10:42

    I love this quilt! A very impressive first quilt. You’re right – the border really adds to it. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

